Learning the Art of the Negative Question with Ika Musume Chan

侵略!イカ娘 is one of the funniest animes I’ve seen in awhile.  My favorite genres are action and comedy.

Each episode title is phrased as a negative question, which I thought was interesting.  They leave イカ (squid) on the end to highlight the fact that it is a pun.

Episode 1

侵略しなイカ?

Can’t I invade?

同胞じゃないイカ?

Aren’t we compatriots?

最強じゃなイカ?

Aren’t I strong?

Episode 2

Episode 2 Preview

Episode 2 Preview

仲間じゃなイカ?

Aren’t we friends?

祝わなイカ?

Can’t we celebrate?

遊ばなイカ?

Don’t you want to play?

Episode 3

Episode 3 Preview

Episode 3 Preview

怖くなイカ?

Aren’t you scared?

天敵じゃなイカ?

Aren’t you my arch enemy?

新入りじゃなイカ?

Aren’t you a new guy?

Episode 4

Episode 4 Preview

Episode 4 Preview

買わなイカ?

Can’t I buy it?

乗りこまなイカ?

Can’t I ride it?

ニセモノじゃなイカ?

Aren’t you an imposter?

Episode 5

Episode 5 Preview

Episode 5 Preview

宇宙人じゃなイカ?

Aren’t you an alien?

学校に行かなイカ?

Can’t I go to school?

飼わなイカ?

Won’t you care for it?

Episode 6

Episode 6 Preview

Episode 6 Preview

ヒーローショーじゃなイカ?

Isn’t this a hero show?

勉強しなイカ?

Can’t I study?

恋じゃなイカ?

Isn’t it love?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

